Skip navigation

Despair tugs at my heartstrings

A smile frozen on my face

God knows what tomorrow brings

Have to face it with good grace

My façade is breaking

That smile frozen on my face

Though my heart is aching

I cannot quit this race

What if my cover fails me

Can’t keep a smile on my face

What devil come to collect his fee

Then in this forsaken place?

This shield cannot fail me

Must keep a smile on my face

Drink the dregs of hatred’s tea

And savor bitter taste

As these options, varied, flit

Behind that smile frozen on my face

I realize that no one cares a whit

The world goes on its’ steady pace

Despair tugs at my heartstrings

A smile frozen on my face

God knows what tomorrow brings

Have to face it with good grace

Leave a Reply

