Skip navigation

Whispering

I lay still
Against your skin
Warmth emanating
You know that old saying
Home is where the heart is
The truth lies with you
For I feel at home
In this very moment
Hour
Minute
Second
In your arms
I whisper a melody
Of our lives to this day
Of sweet dreams and sorrow
Of cokes and cheeseburgers
Tea bags and eviction notices
You listen intently
Heart in beat with mine
Souls collide
You leave tomorrow
For guns
Name tags
The flag
But for today
You’re here
Holding me
Listening to me whisper
The song of our hopes
And the life I’ll live for you.

Jordan

2 Comments

  1. I really like this. You bring a haunting sense of sorrow into the ending beautifully.

    Well done!

  2. Well I wish I could take credit, but it isn’t mine. I shall certainly convey that to the author though.


Leave a Reply

